Sister Parks Agreement

The Sister Parks agreement is a partnership between 15 National Parks and Monuments and the Great Lakes Inventory and Monitoring Network in the Upper Midwest, and 7 National Parks, Wetlands, Refuges and Reserves on the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica.

The United States National Parks Service participating areas:

  1. St. Croix National Scenic Riverway
  2. Mississippi National River and Recreation Area
  3. Apostle Islands National Lakeshore
  4. Voyageurs National Park
  5. Grand Portage National Monument
  6. Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore
  7. Isle Royale National Park
  8. Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore
  9. Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore
  10. North Country National Scenic Trail
  11. Effigy Mounds National Monument
  12. Ice Age National Scenic Trail
  13. Keweenaw National Historical Park
  14. Pipestone National Monument
  15. Great Lakes Inventory and Monitoring Network

Costa Rica’s National System of Conservation Areas (SINAC):

  1. Corcovado National Park
  2. Marino Ballena National Park
  3. Piedras Blancas National Park
  4. Térraba Sierpe National Wetlands
  5. Golfito Wildlife Refuge
  6. Isla del Caño Biologicial Reserve
  7. Golfo Dulce Forest Reserve

For more information, check out our Sister Parks Story!